Skip to content
Home » Free Class Notes for CBSE Board » Class 11 Notes for CBSE » CBSE Class 11 Biology Notes » CBSE Class 11th Biology Notes for Chapter 9 Biomolecules

CBSE Class 11th Biology Notes for Chapter 9 Biomolecules

                                                 CHAPTER 9 BIOMOLECULES

  • Amino acids, monosaccharide and disaccharide sugars, fatty acids, glycerol, nucleotides, nucleosides and nitrogen bases are some of the organic compounds seen in the living organisms.
  • There are 21 types of amino acids and 5 types of nucleotides.
  • Only three types of macromolecules i.e., proteins, nucleic acids and polysaccharides are found in living systems.
  • Proteins are heteropolymers made of amino acids.
  • Nucleic acids (RNA and DNA) are composed of nucleotides. They serve as genetic material.
  • Polysachharides are components of cell wall in plants. They are also storage forms of energy.
  • Proteins serve a variety of cellular functions. Some of them are enzymes, some are antibodies, some are receptors, some are hormones and some others are structural proteins
  • Enzymes and proteins which catalyze biochemical reactions in the cells.
  • Enzymes lower the activation energy of reactions and enhance greatly the rate of the reactions.
  • Nucleic acids carry hereditary information and are passed on from parental generation to progeny.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *